Recent Posts

Archive

Tags

Covid-19 Response Committee

Hello SD-ACDA Friends!

I am pleased to share this document with you from the Covid-19 Response Committee on how to proceed moving forward as we deal with Covid- 19 in our teaching. This is a resource with some wonderful ideas and advocacy for what we do! Please take some time to read this, and also feel free to share with your administrators and others who you believe would benefit from this document.

Thanks and please let me know if you have any questions.

Sincerely,

Kaye

COVID-19 Response Committee Report: June 15, 2020

American Choral Directors Association (ACDA) today released guidance and a statement of support for choral singing and study during the COVID-19 pandemic.

The “COVID-19 Response Committee Report: June 15, 2020” was developed by a team of choral professionals from across the country, and with expertise and experience in choral education and conducting in a variety of choral settings including K-12 schools, colleges and universities, community choirs, and places of worship.

ACDA National President Lynne Gackle noted, “These committee members are choral directors, not medical experts, so this report will not provide scientific findings or recommendations. Rather, these directors have shared their thoughts about the next steps for planning for choirs in the fall and what considerations should be made within each context whether the instructional scenario is face-to-face, hybrid, or remote. I am so grateful for the willingness of these colleagues to share their time, talent, and wisdom in the creation of this unified response and detailed resource on behalf of ACDA.”

“We endeavor,” stated the committee members, “to provide resources for all choral musicians, to advocate for ourselves and our profession, to guide our thinking with sample instructional models, and to point us in the direction of additional information.” They continued, “Primarily, we encourage all to continue to ensure that all singers are given equal access to participate fully in your programs, understanding that for so many, choir is their safety net, their source of emotional wellbeing and support.”

See document here: https://files.constantcontact.com/b4d082bd201/184c8a68-a6a3-47d5-a9e7-f3a529932f9e.pdf

WEBINAR

Webinar with ACDA President, Vice-President, and Committee Members

Monday, June 22, at 12:00 p.m. PDT/ 1:00 p.m. MDT / 2:00 p.m. CDT / 3:00 p.m. EDT The webinar will include ACDA President Lynne Gackle, ACDA Vice-President André Thomas, and the 13 Response Committee members. They will summarize and discuss the report’s contents, as well as answer questions.

Registration is free and capped at 500, but the event will be recorded and the recording available on June 23. Register here: https://us02web.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_NxCH8tTRRAWJeq7lCtl59g

  • facebook
  • twitter
  • youtube

©2016 by South Dakota American Choral Directors Association. Proudly created with Wix.com